The Curse Of The Monkey Mind – And How You Can Cure It


 I used to suffer from this.I thought it was merely a weakness in my character, but it would appear I wasn’t alone as I read an article online which described my ‘symptoms’ exactly and gave it a name – the monkey mind!

For those of you who are wondering what on earth I am talking about, I shall try and explain. Basically, I have an idea, think it through, and decide to do it. Then I have maybe another idea, or I decide the first idea is a non-runner and can it. This can and does go on until I have several ideas and plans and I end up really not knowing what to do!

This is disastrous if you want to get on in life and find something you really want to do, and more importantly, have an aptitude for! But personally I have found this inexplicably difficult for much of the last ten years really. Well, I say that, but about 5 years ago I discovered something online that sparked a real interest, and then never really pursued. Either for practical – need to pay the bills – or tenuous (lack of self-belief) reasons.

Throughout the last 5 years, and increasingly so in the last two, I have also been reading a lot. Napoleon Hill’s famous ‘Think & Grow Rich’ amongst many others. And I have realised that although I have come up with some crazy money making schemes and business ideas, I have also devised some pretty good ones aswell.

The thing is though. I can sit here all day and devise schemes, plans and ideas, good and bad, but unless I get out there and do something about them I might aswell not bother! How are you going to discover your true talent/calling/niche if you never try anything? 

 You need to exhaust a few possibilities before you find your ‘gig’ unless you are one of the lucky ones who know at school what they want to do and then leaves school and does it! I envy you in a lot of ways. But then, I have met a lot of people and learned a lot of things about different business models and sectors and their particular dynamics that I wouldn’t have done otherwise. It is those experiences that I believe help me now as a writer, especially in copywriting for small businesses.

I wouldn’t want to do anything else now for a living, I absolutely love what I do. But I do wish I had been able to cure that monkey mind years ago and concentrate on one thing: becoming the Number One copywriter in the UK. I’m not there yet by a long chalk, but I am on my way at last!

So, if your mind is wandering off at all sorts of tangents take a minute to think about what you really want to do. Is there any reason why you can’t? think long and hard about it and you’ll find that there isn’t –not really.

When you have worked out what you what, work out a route to get it, it doesn’t matter how many steps it takes, and then switch off that monkey mind. Immediately. Pursue your goal with single-minded determination and never ever quit til you get there.

This will take some practice, it did for me, and still does to some degree because I have a naturally inquisitive mind, but learn to stop yourself as soon as your mind starts wandering off to other possibilities or you start thinking you can’t do it. You can! And you will! Just keep that single mind and don’t let anyone – family, friends, boyfriends, girlfriends, husbands or wives – put you off or let you believe you can’t do it, because you can!

Enough from me today I think, I look forward to reading your comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

